Labour in Local Government

Local Government Council ChamberLabour has hundreds of local councillors representing their local communities on local authorities across the North East and Cumbria. As of May 2013, Labour lead 15 local authorities across the North East and Cumbria.

Tyne and Wear:

Newcastle City Council

Leader: Councillor Nick Forbes Contact: 0191 211 5151

North Tyneside (Labour Directly Elected Mayor)

Elected Mayor of North Tyneside: Norma Redfearn 


Leader: Cllr Mick Henry Contact:Tel: 0191 433 2002

South Tyneside

Leader: Councillor Ian Malcolm

Sunderland City Council

Leader: Councillor Paul Watson

County Durham and Darlington:

Durham County Council

Leader: Councillor Simon Henig

Darlington Borough Council

Leader: Councillor Bill Dixon

Tees Valley:


Leader: Christopher Akers-Belcher  

Middlesbrough (Labour Majority with Independent Directly Elected Mayor)

Leader: Councillor Charlie Rooney

Redcar and Cleveland

Leader: Councillor George Dunning

Stockton on Tees

Leader: Councillor Bob Cook Contact:



Northumberland County Council

Leader: Councillor Grant Davey



Leader: Councillor Elaine Woodburn


Cumbria County Council 

Leader: Councillor Stewart Young