Labour in Local Government

Local Government Council ChamberLabour has hundreds of local councillors representing their local communities on local authorities across the North East and Cumbria. As of May 2013, Labour lead 15 local authorities across the North East and Cumbria.

Tyne and Wear:

Newcastle City Council

Leader: Councillor Nick Forbes Contact: 0191 211 5151  nick.forbes@newcastle.gov.uk

North Tyneside (Labour Directly Elected Mayor)

Elected Mayor of North Tyneside: Norma Redfearn 


Gateshead

Leader: Cllr Mick Henry Contact:Tel: 0191 433 2002 cllr.mhenry@gateshead.gov.uk
 

South Tyneside

Leader: Councillor Ian Malcolm Contact:cllr.iain.malcolm@southtyneside.gov.uk

Sunderland City Council

Leader: Councillor Paul Watson Contact:cllr.paul.watson@sunderland.gov.uk

County Durham and Darlington:

Durham County Council

Leader: Councillor Simon Henig Contact:simon.henig@durham.gov.uk

Darlington Borough Council

Leader: Councillor Bill Dixon Contact:Bill.Dixon@darlington.gov.uk


Tees Valley:

Hartlepool 

Leader: Christopher Akers-Belcher  


Middlesbrough (Labour Majority with Independent Directly Elected Mayor)

Leader: Councillor Charlie Rooney charles_rooney@middlesbrough.gov.uk


Redcar and Cleveland

Leader: Councillor George Dunning Contact:george_dunning@redcar-cleveland.gov.uk

Stockton on Tees

Leader: Councillor Bob Cook Contact: robert.cook@stockton.gov.uk

 

Northumberland:

Northumberland County Council

Leader: Councillor Grant Davey


Cumbria:

Copeland

Leader: Councillor Elaine Woodburn Contact:elaine.woodburn@copeland.gov.uk

Carlisle

Cumbria County Council 

Leader: Councillor Stewart Young